Then She Was Gone

Posted December 2, 2017 by Denzil in Reviews / 14 Comments

Then She Was Gone Lisa Jewell
Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell
Published by Simon and Schuster on April 24th 2018
Genres: Contemporary Women, Family Life, Fiction, General
Pages: 368
ISBN: 9781501154669
Buy on AmazonThe Book DepositoryBarnes & Noble
Goodreads

Ten years after her teenage daughter disappears, a woman crosses paths with a charming single father whose young child feels eerily familiar, in this evocative, suspenseful drama from New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell—perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Liane Moriarty.

Ellie Mack was the perfect daughter. She was fifteen, the youngest of three. She was beloved by her parents, friends, and teachers. She and her boyfriend made a teenaged golden couple. She was days away from an idyllic post-exams summer vacation, with her whole life ahead of her.

And then she was gone.

Now, her mother Laurel Mack is trying to put her life back together. It’s been ten years since her daughter disappeared, seven years since her marriage ended, and only months since the last clue in Ellie’s case was unearthed. So when she meets an unexpectedly charming man in a café, no one is more surprised than Laurel at how quickly their flirtation develops into something deeper. Before she knows it, she’s meeting Floyd’s daughters—and his youngest, Poppy, takes Laurel’s breath away.

Because looking at Poppy is like looking at Ellie. And now, the unanswered questions she’s tried so hard to put to rest begin to haunt Laurel anew. Where did Ellie go? Did she really run away from home, as the police have long suspected, or was there a more sinister reason for her disappearance? Who is Floyd, really? And why does his daughter remind Laurel so viscerally of her own missing girl?

This psychological thriller has more twists and turns than a box of paperclips. And I guarantee you won’t see half of them coming. The basic plot is that a teenage girl, Ellie, goes missing. The police decide she’s run away from home. The search is scaled down. But then, years later, Ellie’s Mum, Laurel, meets a mysterious stranger who has a young daughter called Poppy, who bears an uncanny resemblance to Ellie. And that’s when things get really interesting.

Lisa Jewell describes inter-family relationships as wonderfully as ever. And things turn on the tiniest of happenstances! “Kinks in timelines,” says Ellie. And of course, no-one knows they are happening, until they’ve happened, and by then it’s too late.

In the final chapters the story gathers momentum like a snowball rolling down a mountain, and if the epilogue doesn’t get you grabbing the tissue box, then you need to check your pulse.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

14 responses to “Then She Was Gone

  1. This sounds great – the kind of book that’s a real fast read, but that you don’t want to read too often – in the vein of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train. I read more on Amazon, and sent an inquiry to my librarian. Tx!

    • Denzil

      Glad you like the recommendation Jeanne! I am very confident that you will enjoy it if you like this genre.

  2. Nice review, Denzil. That sounds like just the kind of book I’d like to read … so I’m heading over to Amazon now for a further look. I love a good story with lots of twists and turns.

    • Denzil

      It seems to have highly favourable reviews on Amazon too Lesley. Let me know what you think!

    • Denzil

      I’ve been reading her books for quite a few years and it is interesting to see her change her style, from originally quite quirky, relationship/family friendly books, to books like this one with a distinct edge!

Why don't you drop TheBookOwl a message?